Boys Varsity Basketball · Two former Red Devils named to 2018 Silver Anniversary Team

Nearly 25 years ago, one of the best teams to grace the floor of William S. Johnson Arena was en route to the old Hoosier Dome, poised to take home Jeffersonville’s first-ever state championship.

Now, two of those players from the 1992-93 JHS boys’ team are being honored by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Guards B.J. Flynn and Sherron Wilkerson were named to the 2018 Men’s Silver Anniversary Team on Tuesday. The duo join 16 other men who received this honor, which were based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

Of the 16 former players chosen, 12 of them were named to the 1993 Indiana All-Star squad. Six other all-state players were included to recognize the top of Indiana’s high school class of 1993.

The men’s Silver Anniversary Team will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 57th Annual Men’s Awards Banquet on Wednesday, March 21, 2018. A midday reception, which is free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle, Ind. The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.

Banquet reservations are now available through the Hall’s website at or by calling (765) 529-1891.  For more information, you may also email



B.J. Flynn (middle) helps hoist Jeffersonville’s only boys basketball state championship trophy. photo from The Evening News and Tribune

1993 AP 3rd team all-state selection, averaged 15.3 points for 1993 state champions after averaging 13.3 points as a junior on state runner-up team and a three-year varsity record of 74-9 with three sectional titles, three regional championships and two semi-state titles.  Over the final 10 games of state championship season, he averaged 17 ppg, 54% FG and 81% FT.

Played in six games at Duquesne as a freshman, before playing 93 games in three seasons at University of Louisville, where he was a part of three NCAA Tournament teams that each won 19+ games, including reaching the 1996 Sweet 16 and 1997 Elite Eight.  Was Conference USA 6th Man of the Year in his senior season, averaging 9.0 ppg in 34 games for 26-9 team.  He played professionally in the Southern Italian League in 1998, averaging 37 points per game.  Now the owner of Bluegrass Surgical Sales in Louisville, he is married with two children and resides in Prospect, Kentucky.



Sherron Wilkerson drives during the IHSAA State Championship in 1993. photo from The Evening News and Tribune

Originally named 1993 Mr. Basketball before relinquishing that title – played one game as Indiana All-Star.  Named all-state, Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year, a McDonald’s All-American and ranked #1 shooting guard at Nike All-American Camp.  Totaled 1,140 career points and 404 assists in 83 games in three seasons, averaging 14.1 ppg as a junior for state runner-up team and 16.5 ppg and 7.0 assists as senior for 1993 state champions.  A 74-9 record, including three sectional titles, three regional championships, two semi-state titles, 1992 state runner-up and 1993 state champs.

Played 28 games as freshman at Indiana University and averaged 7.5 ppg in 17 games as a redshirt sophomore.  Completed his career at Rio Grande University (OH).  Played professionally for 10 years in IBA and with teams in Sweden, Germany, Latvia, Turkey, Brazil, Italy and Israel, winning Defensive Player of the Year, All-Star MVP honors and two league championships.  Has coached at Herron and Rock Creek high schools, IU Southeast and Lamar University.  Since 2015, he has been an assistant coach at Jeffersonville High School and is also an Environmental Account Executive for Environmental Management Solutions.  Married with one child, he resides in Louisville, Kentucky.

Complete list of names…

Name                                     High School                       
Chad Austin                          Richmond

Ryan Bond                            Ft. Wayne South

Tyson  Brit                            Anderson

Noy Castillo                          New Albany

Jim Cruse                              Terre Haute North

B.J. Flynn                          Jeffersonville

Scott George                         Ben Davis

Matthew Graves                  White River Valley

Jason Holmes                      New Castle

Jeff Layden                           Lawrence North

Toby Madison                      Washington Catholic

Pete Miller                            South Bend St. Joseph

Kelcey Mucker                     Lawrenceburg

Burt Paddock                        Alexandria

Chris Quinn                          South Bend St. Joseph

Scott Rolen                           Jasper

Sherron Wilkerson       Jeffersonville

Randy Zachary                     Anderson Highland